Hinterland Connections

High performance hinterland connections by rail, inland-waterway vessels and truck

The Port of Hamburg's well-developed hinterland network ensures excellent links to Europe and makes Hamburg a very attractive hub for many companies. Hamburg meets the growing cargo handling volumes and the ever increasing demands on the environment with well-developed infrastructure for rail, inland-waterway vessels and trucks as well as with environmentally-friendly port management.  In 2014 a total of around 103.7 million tons was handled in hinterland services of the Port of Hamburg. Approx. 43 percent of the goods were transported by rail, 11 percent by inland-waterway vessel, and 47 percent by truck. 
 

 

Europe's largest rail port

In the Port of Hamburg 44 million tons were transported by rail in 2014. This strengthens the hanseatic city's position as leading rail port in Europe. The Port of Hamburg railway has a track network of more than 300 kilometres, which efficiently handles around 200 goods trains with over 5,000 railcars daily. To ensure seamless rail traffic all container terminals have cutting-edge, high-performance handling facilities. Multi-purpose and bulk cargo terminals are also connected to the rail network. Meanwhile more than 100 rail companies operate on the tracks in the Port of Hamburg. They offer a tightly-woven network of wagonload services, shuttle and block train connections throughout the whole of Europe. The Czech Republic, Austria, Poland and Switzerland are some of the most important international destinations for container train connections to and from the Port of Hamburg. The most important German states for transport volume in the German seaport hinterland services are Baden-Württemberg, Bavaria, and North Rhine-Westphalia.
RailRail
 
TruckingTrucking

Flexible, fast trucking services

Hamburg is linked to neighbouring regions and also to the large international commercial centres by motorway. Long distance traffic is handled on the radial long distance major road network around the city. Some 80 kilometres of this is motorway.

Annually the roads in the Port of Hamburg carry several million containers. The most important part of the modal split in hinterland traffic is road haulage in the local area (<150 kilometres). 

For short distances trucks are often the first choice because of their flexibility and the transport costs. The road network is continually being extended and traffic handling is steadily improving.
 
Inland waterway vesselInland waterway vessel

Germany's third largest inland port

Inland waterway vessels are seen as the most ecological mode of transport. No other mode of transport is in a position to achieve the same transport-performance in such an environmentally-friendly way. The Port of Hamburg is the third largest inland port in Germany. In 2014 approximately 10,000 inland waterway vessels tied up at the some 100 berths especially designated for them and transported around 11.6 million tons of cargo. Cargo leaves Hamburg daily on the River Elbe and the canals into the hinterland. There are regular services on the middle and upper Elbe in the direction of Magdeburg, Aken, Torgau, Riesa, Dresden and even to the Czech Republic to Děčin, Ústí nad Labem and Lovosice. Along the Lower Elbe Brunsbüttel, Cuxhaven and Glückstadt, among others can be served. In the Elbe Lateral Canal the link to the Mittellandkanal is also the connection to Braunschweig, Haldensleben, Hanover and Minden as well as to the Ruhr region and the inland ports of the Rhein, Main, Mosel and Neckar. Cargo also finds it way to Berlin via the inland waterways.
 

Advertising Partner

TX Logistiks

Hinterlandverbindungen

Leistungsstarke Hinterlandanbindungen per Bahn, Binnenschiff und Lkw

Das gut ausgebaute Hinterlandnetz des Hamburger Hafens sorgt für eine ausgezeichnete Verbindung nach Europa und macht Hamburg für viele Unternehmen als Umschlagplatz attraktiv. Den wachsenden Umschlagmengen und den immer größer werdenden Anforderungen an die Umwelt begegnet der Hafen mit einer gut ausgebauten Infrastruktur für Bahn, Binnenschiff und Lkw sowie mit einem umweltgerechten Hafenmanagement. In 2014 wurden insgesamt rund 103,7 Millionen Tonnen im Hinterlandverkehr des Hamburger Hafens abgefertigt. Rund 43 Prozent der Güter werden per Bahn transportiert, 11 Prozent per Binnenschiff und 47 Prozent per Lkw. 

 

Europas größter Eisenbahnhafen

Auf den Schienen der Hamburger Hafenbahn wurden 2014 rund 44 Millionen Tonnen transportiert. Damit baut die Hansestadt einmal mehr ihre Position als führender Eisenbahnhafen in Europa aus. Insgesamt stellen auf dem Gleisnetz der Hamburger Hafenbahn mehr als 300 Kilometer Gleise eine effiziente Abwicklung von täglich rund 200 Güterzügen mit über 5.000 Waggons sicher. Um den reibungslosen Schienenverkehr sicherzustellen, verfügen alle Containerterminals über hochmoderne und leistungsstarke Umschlaganlagen. Auch die Multipurpose- und Massengutterminals sind an das Schienennetz angeschlossen. Mehr als 100 Eisenbahnverkehrsunternehmen (EVU) sind inzwischen auf den Gleisen der Hamburger Hafenbahn unterwegs. Sie bieten ein engmaschiges Netz an Wagenladungsverkehren, Shuttle- und Ganzzugverbindungen in den gesamten europäischen Raum an. Zu den bedeutendsten Destinationen im Ausland gehören die Containerzugverbindungen zwischen dem Hamburger Hafen und Tschechien, Österreich, Polen und der Schweiz. Die vom Transportvolumen her wichtigsten Bundesländer im deutschen Seehafen-Hinterlandverkehr per Bahn sind Baden-Württemberg, Bayern und Nordrhein-Westfalen.
BahnBahn
 
LKWLKW

Flexible und schnelle Lkw-Verkehre

Hamburg ist über Fernstraßen mit den benachbarten regionalen, aber auch mit den großen internationalen Wirtschaftszentren verbunden. Der Fernverkehr wird auf einem radial auf die Stadt zulaufenden Fernstraßennetz abgewickelt. Etwa 80 Kilometer davon sind Autobahn.

Auf den Straßen im Hamburger Hafen werden jedes Jahr mehrere Millionen Container transportiert. Im Modal Split des Hinterlandverkehrs ist der Straßengüterverkehr im Nahbereich (unter 150 Kilometer) der bedeutendste Verkehrsträger.Lkw sind für kurze Distanzen aufgrund der Flexibilität und der Transportkosten oft die erste Wahl. Das Straßennetz wird kontinuierlich ausgebaut und die Abwicklung der Verkehre stetig verbessert.
 
BinnenschiffBinnenschiff

Deutschlands drittgrößter Binnenhafen

Das Binnenschiff gilt als das ökologischste Transportmittel. Kein anderer Verkehrsträger ist in der Lage, die gleiche Transportleistung so umweltfreundlich zu erbringen. Der Hamburger Hafen ist der drittgrößte Binnenhafen Deutschlands. Rund 10.000 Binnenschiffe machten 2014 an den rund 100 für sie vorgesehenen Liegeplätzen fest und transportierten rund 11,6 Millonen Tonnen Ladung. Täglich starten von Hamburg aus Transporte auf der Elbe und den angeschlossenen Kanälen in das Binnenland. Auf der Mittel- und Oberelbe gibt es regelmäßige Verbindungen in Richtung Magdeburg, Aken, Torgau, Riesa, Dresden und sogar bis in die Tschechische Republik nach Děčin, Ústí nad Labem und Lovosice. Entlang der Unterelbe können u.a. Brunsbüttel, Cuxhaven und Glückstadt bedient werden. Auf dem Elbe-Seitenkanal mit der Verbindung zum Mittellandkanal ist zudem der Anschluss an Braunschweig, Haldensleben, Hannover und Minden sowie an das Ruhrgebiet und die Binnenhäfen an Rhein, Main, Mosel und Neckar gegeben. Auch nach Berlin finden regelmäßig Transporte auf den Wasserstraßen statt.
 
 

Werbepartner

TX Logistiks