The Port of Hamburg – most important hub for North Rhine-Westphalia’s foreign trade

With its industry focussed on foreign trade, whether for imports or exports the state of North Rhine-Westphalia is of great significance for the Port of Hamburg. Shippers and forwarders in North Rhine-Westphalia use the dense network of worldwide liner services via Hamburg for global distribution of imported and exported goods that mainly consist of merchandise and department store articles, metals and metal products, machinery and equipment, vehicles, food and beverages. With annual traffic totalling around 500,000 TEU, North Rhine-Westphalia is the second most important region for the Port of Hamburg’s hinterland container traffic.
Around 79 percent of container transport between Hamburg and North Rhine-Westphalia is handled by road. Many areas of North Rhine-Westphalia are very well connected with the  Hamburg Metropolitan Region via efficient intermodal terminals. Rail is the second most important carrier with around 19 percent of all traffic. 

Dortmunder PorthouseDortmunder Porthouse

Activities of the Port of Hamburg representative office in Dortmund

Port of Hamburg Marketing has already been active in North Rhine-Westphalia for many years. To cover the region even more intensively, the representative office in Dortmund was opened in 2014. The office represents the interests of operators and service providers in the Port of Hamburg and forges contacts with companies in trade and industry, in the transport and logistics sector, as well as trade associations and political decision-makers in North Rhine-Westphalia as well as the states of Lower Saxony, Hesse, Rhineland-Palatinate and Saarland. It aims to provide briefing on the latest developments in the universal port of Hamburg and to build up business relationships. Also profiting from such intensive coverage of the market are its members, who are regularly supplied with market and sectoral data. Additional services for members include the arrangement of contacts with potential customers, and organization and preparation of customer visits and events.
Port of Hamburg Marketing annually organizes numerous events in North Rhine-Westphalia and Lower Saxony. The focus here is on interchange of markets, information and contacts between those attending. It also provides lecturers for events staged by network partners. These present the range of services of the Port of Hamburg and firms there.

Repräsentanz Dortmund

Der Hafen Hamburg - bedeutende Drehscheibe für den Außenhandel Nordrhein-Westfalens

Für den Hafen Hamburg ist das Bundesland Nordrhein-Westfalen mit seiner vom Außenhandel geprägten Industrie auf der Export- und Importseite von großer Bedeutung. Verlader und Speditionen aus Nordrhein-Westfalen nutzen das dichte Netz an weltweiten Liniendiensten via Hamburg für die globale Verteilung von Im- und Exportware, darunter überwiegend Handelsware und Kaufhausgüter, Metalle und Metallerzeugnisse, Maschinen und Ausrüstung, Fahrzeuge sowie Nahrungs- und Genussmittel. Mit einen jährlichen Verkehrsaufkommen von rund 500.000 TEU ist Nordrhein-Westfalen die zweitwichtigste Region im Container-Hinterlandverkehr des Hamburger Hafens.

Rund 79 Prozent der Containertransporte zwischen Hamburg und Nordrhein-Westfalen werden per Lkw abgewickelt. Viele Regionen in Nordrhein-Westfalen sind über effiziente KV-Terminals hervorragend an die Metropolregion Hamburg angebunden. Mit einem Anteil von etwa 19 Prozent ist die Bahn zweitwichtigster Verkehrsträger. 

Dortmunder HafenhausDortmunder Hafenhaus
 

Aktivitäten der Hafen Hamburg Repräsentanz in Dortmund

Hafen Hamburg Marketing ist bereits seit mehreren Jahren in Nordrhein-Westfalen aktiv. Im Jahr 2014 wurde die Repräsentanz in Dortmund eröffnet, um die Region noch intensiver zu betreuen. Die Repräsentanz vertritt die Interessen der Hamburger Seehafenverkehrswirtschaft und stellt Kontakte zu Unternehmen aus Industrie und Handel, der Transport- und Logistikbranche sowie zu Wirtschaftsorganisationen und politischen Entscheidungsträgern in Nordrhein-Westfalen sowie in den Bundesländern Niedersachsen, Hessen, Rheinland-Pfalz und dem Saarland her, um über aktuelle Entwicklungen im Universalhafen Hamburg zu informieren und neue Geschäftsbeziehungen aufzubauen. Durch die intensive Marktbetreuung profitieren auch die Mitglieder der Marketingorganisation, die regelmäßig mit Markt- und Branchendaten versorgt werden. Weitere Leistungen für Mitglieder sind beispielsweise die Kontaktvermittlung zu potenziellen Kunden, die Organisation und Vorbereitung von Kundenbesuchen oder -veranstaltungen.

Hafen Hamburg Marketing organisiert jährlich mehrere Veranstaltungen in Nordrhein-Westfalen und Niedersachsen. Der Markt-, Informations- und Kontaktaustausch zwischen den Teilnehmern steht hier im Fokus. Hinzu kommen Vorträge auf Veranstaltungen von Netzwerkpartnern, in denen die Leistungsfähigkeit des Hafens Hamburg und seiner Unternehmen dargestellt werden.